Now official: e.Ray is ESA Prime Contractor!

Now official: e.Ray is ESA Prime Contractor!

Together with the European Space Agency (ESA), we are investigating the feasibility of a network consisting of 2,200 infrastructure systems along the tropical rain belt. The project behind it is called River Nexus.

The rain belt is suffering; but what to do?

Rivers are the lifelines of the world. They cover our water needs, transport our goods and offer a diverse biosphere. In-depth, real-time knowledge of these water resources is important and can affect millions of lives.

The River Nexus project focuses on the regions around the world’s tropical rain belt. The people living there are most affected by the effects of climate change. Heavy rainfall leads to devastating floods and catastrophes. Every year thousands of people lose their homes or even their lives. Flood warnings hardly reach rural communities. But they are particularly dependent on them.

Due to a lack of information infrastructure – an avoidable factor – people suffer from flood disasters. In an emergency, every minute can save lives and reduce damage. It is therefore of great importance to establish early flood detection in flood-prone areas. So far, Africa has only a weakly developed network of water monitoring stations. Often these stations do not provide real-time data. In addition, a lack of electricity affects the fast growing economies of the rain belt. The proper management of surface water requires continuous real-time measurements in rivers. To save lives and reduce damage in affected areas, it is important to save time.

That’s what we can do!

The River Nexus project can solve this problem. Thanks to the support of ESA Business Applications, we were able to integrate a hydrometric measurement system into our facilities. This measures basic parameters for the evaluation of water resources (water level, speed, temperature, precipitation and pH). The data is transmitted in real time to the affected people.

The goal of River Nexus is to build a network of energy-independent measuring stations on rivers and canals in the equatorial regions of Latin America, Africa and Asia – the rain belt of the earth.

This network is based on the Green Independent Nexus Node Infrastructure (GINNI). On the one hand, this serves to generate energy from water currents and solar radiation. On the other hand, real-time information about the respective rivers is provided directly. The data is analyzed immediately – this shortens the path of information supply and saves time. In an emergency, local residents receive an immediate warning and can decide on further steps such as clarification or evacuation of affected communities. We call the people responsible „local heroes“.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Jetzt Offiziell: e.Ray ist ESA Prime Contractor!

Jetzt Offiziell: e.Ray ist ESA Prime Contractor!

Zusammen mit der Europäischen Weltraumagentur (ESA) untersuchen wir die Machbarkeit für ein Netzwerk bestehend aus 2.200 Infrastruktur-Systemen entlang des tropischen Regengürtels.
Das Projekt, das dahinter steht trägt den Namen River Nexus.

Der Regengürtel leidet; aber was tun?

Flüsse sind die Lebensadern der Welt. Sie decken unseren Wasserbedarf, transportieren unsere Güter und bieten eine vielfältige Biosphäre. Ein tiefgreifendes Echtzeit-Wissen über diese Wasserressourcen ist von hoher Bedeutung und kann sich auf Millionen von Leben auswirken.

Das River Nexus Projekt konzentriert sich auf die Regionen rund um den tropischen Regengürtel der Erde. Die dort lebenden Menschen sind von den Auswirkungen des Klimawandels am stärksten betroffen. Starke Niederschläge führen zu verheerenden Flutkatastrophen und Überschwemmungen. Jedes Jahr verlieren tausende Menschen ihr Zuhause oder sogar ihr Leben. Hochwasserwarnungen erreichen kaum die ländlichen Gemeinden. Dabei sind besonders diese darauf angewiesen.

Wegen mangelnder Informationsinfrastruktur – ein vermeidbarer Faktor – leiden Menschen unter Flutkatastrophen. Im Ernstfall kann jede Minute Leben retten und Schäden reduzieren. Deshalb ist es von hoher Wichtigkeit, eine Hochwasserfrüherkennung in gefährdeten Gebieten aufzubauen. Bis jetzt gibt es in Afrika nur ein schwach entwickeltes Netzwerk von Wasserüberwachungsstationen. Oftmals liefern diese Stationen keine Daten in Echtzeit. Darüber hinaus beeinträchtigt ein Mangel an Elektrizität die schnell wachsenden Volkswirtschaften des Regengürtels. Für die ordnungsgemäße Bewirtschaftung von Oberflächengewässern sind kontinuierliche Echtzeitmessungen in Flüssen notwendig.

Das können wir machen!

Das Projekt „River Nexus“ kann dieses Problem lösen. Dank der Unterstützung durch ESA Business Applications konnten wir in unseren Anlagen ein hydrometrisches Messsystem integrieren. Dieses misst grundlegende Parameter für die Bewertung der Wasserressourcen (Wasserstand, Geschwindigkeit, Temperaturen, Niederschlag und pH-Wert). Die Daten werden in Echtzeit an betroffene Personen übermittelt.

Das Ziel von River Nexus ist der Aufbau eines Netzwerks von energieunabhängigen Messstationen an Flüssen und Kanälen in den äquatorialen Regionen von Lateinamerika, Afrika und Asien – dem Regengürtel der Erde.

Grundlage für dieses Netzwerk ist die Green Independent Nexus Node Infrastructure (GINNI). Diese dient zum einen der Energiegewinnung aus Wasserströmung und Sonneneinstrahlung. Zum anderen werden Echtzeit-Informationen über die jeweiligen Flüsse unmittelbar bereitgestellt. Die Daten werden sofort analysiert – somit wird der Weg der Informationsversorgung verkürzt und Zeit eingespart. Im Notfall erhalten Ortsansässige eine sofortige Warnung und können über weitere Schritte wie Aufklärung oder Evakuierung betroffener Gemeinden entscheiden. Die dafür zuständigen Menschen nennen wir „Local Heroes“.

Leave a Reply